Award Ceremony

The World Cultural Council acknowledges individuals or institutions that have made outstanding achievements in science, education and the arts by granting the Albert Einstein World Award of Science, the José Vasconcelos World Award of Education and the Leonardo da Vinci World Award of Arts to eminent figures whose work has had a significantly positive impact on the cultural legacy of mankind. These prizes are widely recognized in the scientific, educational and arts communities.

The World Cultural Council annually organises an Award Ceremony, to grant acknowledgements to distinguished individuals or organisations. Each year the ceremony is held in a different country and organised by a renowned university or institute acting as host.

Aalto University and the World Cultural Council are pleased to invite you to Espoo, Finland, to participate in the 2014 Award Ceremony followed by Aalto University Academic Summit on “The Impact of Universities on Economic Growth”.  

Award Ceremony's Programme

Sunday 16 November at Open Innovation House (Otaniementie 19–21, Espoo)
15.00 Public opening lecture by Nobel Laureate, WCC President Edmond H. Fischer:
"The Origin of Reversible Protein Phosphorylation"
An historical account of the work carried out by the 1992 Laureates of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine Edmond H. Fischer and Edwin G. Krebs, awarded "for their discoveries concerning reversible protein phosphorylation as a biological regulatory mechanism"
16.30 Networking dinner

Monday 17 November at Otakaari 1 Building (Otakaari 1, Espoo)
09.00 Laureates’ Lectures
Professor Sir Philip Cohen“Protein Kinases, the Major Drug Targets of the 21st Century”
Professor Federico Rosei“What Type of Energy for the Future of Humanity?”

13.15 The 31st World Cultural Council Award Ceremony 

15.00 Reception

Please register filling out a form.

The Awards 2014 

The Albert Einstein World Award of Science

The annual Albert Einstein World Award of Science was created as a means of recognition for scientists who have accomplished scientific and technological achievements which have brought progress to science and benefit to mankind. The laureate is selected by the Council’s Interdisciplinary Committee along with highly acknowledged scientists from across the globe.

The José Vasconcelos World Award of EducationThe José Vasconcelos World Award of Education has been established as an acknowledgement to the all-important labour of teaching, the underlying basis of our present civilisation. It is given every second year to a renowned educator, an authority in the field of teaching, or an education policy legislator. The qualifying jury is composed of several members of the Interdisciplinary Committee and a group of distinguished educators.

Read more about the 2014 laureates

Special Recognitions

During the ceremony Special Recognitions will be granted to six talented researchers who, early in their careers, have had international impact through their academic work.  

Read more about the special recognitions nominees.






Page content by: | Last updated: 05.11.2014.